nickmatulhuda blog

have a look at www.nickmatulhuda.com, and have a say here

My Heart Skips a Beat

with 2 comments

Everyday, I count my blessings. Tried. Never worked. They’re just too much.

In between irritations for being stood up on works that being promised, nor rejections when proposing works, photography continues to give me jolts and keep my heart beeps.

But there are times when my heart skips a beat,

Mba Eka ini, Nickmatulhuda kan? Kemana aja mba? Kok sekarang fotonya udah jarang keliatan? Udah ngga di Tempo yah?

Some guy in random events or occasions that just pop up infront of me and claimed to missed my by-line appear in my previous media, Tempo. Yes sir.. I miss that too. Hope I can hide my blush knowing that someone out there do recognize my works. Or at least my name.

Hi, we came across your website and was wondering if you want to share some of your work to our audience?

My heart stops right there. Wondering if that means another re-publication that will get me paid or receive a small notes of thank you instead.

Eka, tanggal 12 jangan lupa yah.. Motretin acara gue. 

Ah.. Nothing more exciting than doing less frustrating work, like shooting an event of a bunch of camera frenzy ladies. Easy money. Love it!

Am doing a story on labour, did you shoot last week’s protest?

My God! Is that why God set me up a meeting with a friend in a mal, and made me took pictures of that labour protest while I wait up for him to arrive? Subhanallah.. I HAPPENS to have the picture that fits perfect for her story!

korea-buruh

Hey girl, I got a job for you, to illustrate my story about Jakarta..

I told you people.. be organized. Your pictures are your babies. Only with a stack of stock photos, I can take this job without too much hassle.

Googled my name and found these from previous work opportunities,

badzine

Shooting for Badzine, on a Badminton Superseries in Johor Bahru, Malaysia.

greenpeace

Shooting for Greenpeace on Citarum story in West Java, Indonesia.

people daily

Sentani Lake Festival pic published via Xinhua.

Am doing some stories, can you shoot for me?

tv5monde

Felt cool to have my picture on a story in a language I barely understand. *dumbface*

It's getting harder for me to get the opportunity of shooting spot news and being published! SO everytime I do, I felt good to be part of history.

It’s getting harder for me to get the opportunity of shooting spot news and being published! SO everytime I do, I felt good to be part of history.


The art director likes your work and would love it if you were responsible of taking the photos. 

I work by references, most of the times, and I try hard to maintain that good cooperation with someone who trusts me. And I cant be enough grateful for being surrounded by people with such fair and great working environment. Thanks guys.. Thank you so much.

The photos are wonderful! 🙂 Thank you! I’lll keep you posted with our final selection once we start the page layout. You can send me your bill directly.

Ah… Payment.. New sets of numbers in my bank account… Ah.. how I love thee.

I also enjoyed the interview and thank you for the pictures!! Am not really a camera face, but I really love this picture!

Receiving a thank you from the subject of your last shoot, was also breezing. You can tell when they actually mean it and show respect for the work, or just being polite in between their crazy schedule.

Whoops! reminds me, I still have a list of people whom I’ve promised to have their pictures send by email.

This skips a beat thing can be really addictive!

Written by nickmatulhuda

February 22, 2013 at 10:07 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello I’m 19 year old journalist-wanna-be named Keynee (you can call me K if you want). My lecturer gave an assignment to my class, he asked us to look for Indonesian photojournalist, collect the photo projects and, “Learn from their projects,” he said. I found this blog, never heard your name before. I googled your name and found your website. I was like, “Omg how is it possible to capture such an amazing pic, like, wow cant even describe it with words.” It’s like love at the first sight, i fell in love with your photos the moment i laid my eyes on them (yes, yes, madame, you can call me a freaky fangirl but i really meant it, your photo are amazingly amazing).

    Love,
    -K-

    keygiovanni

    December 11, 2013 at 7:56 pm

    • thanks K, you’re so generously kind.

      I have my share of time when I emailed people whose works just adorable, just to say how much I love them. Still does, actually. Just never knew that I’ll have the same response from anyone, and it feels good to be appreciated. Hope my work inspires you, and thank you so much for your kind words..

      nickmatulhuda

      December 17, 2013 at 3:24 pm


Leave a Reply

