nickmatulhuda blog

have a look at www.nickmatulhuda.com, and have a say here

Gotta Make A Plan

with 4 comments

Just last night, -very early in the morning! errr…- I got an email from a friend in India, Nishant Ratnakar, sharing a link to his written thoughts in his blog.

Nishant was one of my workshop-mate in Angkor, Cambodia, back in 2008. He was not very talkative, and yet, he stole a purse for me to show how sweet he can be (aaah…). And while he was doing his own assignments in the workshop, somehow, I can tell that he wasn’t really too excited in doing it. As the result, I can say it was not one of his best work.

Then, it was last year, i think, when he earned a scholarship to get a Diploma in Photojournalism from Ateneo de Manila University, Philippines. That course was different from the Angkor Photo Workshop. Even though I didnt follow all of his updates, he sure did seem to enjoy the course. A friend who was his classmate, told me how Nishant takes his classes very very seriously. And one of his homework was to make some sort of “autopsy photos” – I’ve watched one too many NCIS series (sighed) – where he analyzed certain news photos regarding Osama bin Laden’s death. One of which I didnt exactly understand, though. But still I can see how much effort he has put in to it. And as a friend, I could do nothing but giving him two thumbs up and put on “good luck” grin. But he knows how much I mean it. ๐Ÿ˜€

A not even 30 years old Nishant, now has decided to go independent. After spending five years at DNA newspaper in Bangalore, India, where he was also appointed as Chief Photographer at a quite young age. And he has make some plans..

Long Term Project; Multimedia; Teaching and Knowledge Sharing; Collaboration; New Business Models; New Outlets; Do More; Crowdsourcing; Advertisements ..

I was actually going to copy-paste some of his writing in his blog to let you know what all those means, but (damn it!) he blocked it from copy-paste action. So.. O well.. go read it here : http://nishantratnakar.com/blog/independent-photography-business/

It was a good read, and his plans shows his passion to this profession. A kind of passion that makes you want to plan your next moves yourself.

If Nishant is quoting Dead Poet Society (borriiing… sorry dear.. mmuah!), I will quote Green Day’s Jason Andrew Relva;

Gotta make a plan, gotta do what is right. Cant run around in circle if you wanna build a life. But I dont wanna make a plan for a day far away. While am young and while am able, all I wanna do is …

Its a blank space that I can write with anything I want. Everything that I see can be done in a short time ahead, and do other things after I finished one.

Planning is something that we all must do, to gives you vision on how and where you going to placed yourself ahead. They dont always work. Thats why you make plan A, B, C, D all the way to Z. Because a good plan is a plan which gives you a room to improvise, and spare none for excuse.

Again, have a great adventure ahead my dear friend, may you never lose the passion in you, and always-always.. have fun shooting! ๐Ÿ˜€

Cheers Nishant!!

Written by nickmatulhuda

September 23, 2011 at 11:14 am

Posted in images, photojournalism

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks Eka. Even if it isn’t dead poets… Plan plan plan! Cheers:)

    rajkumar from india:)

    September 23, 2011 at 11:40 am

  2. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks Eka. You should’ve asked me if you wanted to copy paste any portions of the article. I would’ve mailed you the text. cheers!

    Nishant Ratnakar

    September 23, 2011 at 12:22 pm

  3. Btw, is this photo from one of those FCC parties that we had at siem reap? Guess one of the hands holding a beer mug should be mine!

    Nishant Ratnakar

    September 25, 2011 at 12:18 am

    • Yes it is! ๐Ÿ™‚ that “cheers” was a real deal. You were one of the people our group was cheering for as you all raise the glasses!

      nickmatulhuda

      September 25, 2011 at 5:31 am


Leave a Reply

